Skip to Content

Press Releases

Stewart Named Negotiator for Defense Bill

Congressman Chris Stewart (UT-02), a senior Member of the House Budget Committee, was chosen to serve on a conference committee for the House and Senate versions of the Fiscal Year 2021 National Defense Authorization Act (FY21 NDAA).  This committee is charged with getting our national defense policy signed into law to ensure that Department of Defense has the resources and authorities needed to defend the United States and our national security interests.

Following the announcement and the committee’s first meeting, Rep. Stewart released the following statement:

“I am honored to be a part of finalizing this legislation, which will keep America safe and promote peace around the world. Over the coming weeks, I will be fighting to ensure that our men and women in uniform have our full support and to guarantee the continued strength and longevity of Hill Air Force Base, Utah Test and Training Range, and other critical military resources in Utah.” – Rep. Chris Stewart

The following Members were named to serve on the House-Senate Conference Committee as outside conferees:

  • Rep. Mike Conaway (TX-11), House Committee on Agriculture
  • Rep. Chris Stewart (UT-02), House Committee on the Budget
  • Rep. Brett Guthrie (KY-02), House Committee on Education and Labor
  • Rep. Greg Walden (OR-02), House Committee on Energy and Commerce
  • Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-03), House Committee on Financial Services
  • Rep. Michael McCaul (TX-10), House Committee on Foreign Affairs
  • Rep. Mark Green (TN-07), House Committee on Homeland Security
  • Rep. Rodney Davis (IL-13), House Committee on Administration
  • Rep. Devin Nunes (CA-22), Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence
  • Rep. Greg Steube (FL-17), House Committee on the Judiciary
  • Rep. Rob Bishop (UT-01), House Committee on Natural Resources
  • Rep. James Comer (KY-01), House Committee on Oversight and Reform
  • Rep. Mike Garcia (CA-25), House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology
  • Rep. Steve Chabot (OH-01), House Committee on Small Business
  • Rep. Bob Gibbs (OH-07), House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure
  • Rep. Gus Bilirakis (FL-12), House Committee on Veterans' Affairs
  • Rep. Brad Wenstrup (OH-02), House Committee on Ways and Means

The following Members of the House Armed Services Committee (HASC) were named to serve

on the House-Senate Conference Committee:

  • Ranking Member Mac Thornberry (TX-13)
  • Ranking Member Mike Rogers (AL-03)
  • Rep. Joe Wilson (SC-02)
  • Rep. Mike Turner (OH-10)
  • Rep. Doug Lamborn (CO-05)
  • Rep. Rob Wittman (VA-01)
  • Rep. Austin Scott (GA-08)
  • Rep. Vicky Hartzler (MO-04)
  • Rep. Elise Stefanik (NY-21)
  • Rep. Trent Kelly (MS-01)
  • Rep. Mike Gallagher (WI-08)
  • Rep. Don Bacon (NE-02)
  • Rep. Jim Banks (IN-03)
Back to top