Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Stewart’s National Suicide Hotline Designation Act Passes Subcommittee

Mar 10, 2020
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, the Subcommittee on Communications and Technology unanimously passed Rep. Chris Stewart’s (UT-02) National Suicide Hotline Designation Act, H.R. 4194.

Following the subcommittee’s markup and passage of the bill, Congressman Stewart released the following statement:

“The subcommittee markup is an important step in the passage of this legislation and making essential mental health resources more accessible. Today’s unanimous vote demonstrates how serious Congress is about preventing suicide and providing mental health assistance to those who need it.” – Rep. Chris Stewart

“Americans are dying—literally every day—that we don’t have this number in place, because they can’t get help for mental health care when they need it,” Rep. Seth Moulton said “I’m excited the subcommittee passed this bill. Let’s finish the job.”

More about the National Suicide Hotline Designation Act:

Rep. Stewart Introduced the National Suicide Hotline Designation Act last August with leading co-sponsor Rep. Seth Moulton (D-MA). This bi-partisan legislation assigns the FCC’s recommended number, 9-8-8, as the easy three-digit dialing code for the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. Read the full press release here.

The National Suicide Hotline Designation Act authorizes states to collect a fee limited to supporting local crisis call centers that are affiliated within the national network or enhancements of such services. This allows states to fund the suicide hotline services similar to that of existing emergency services.

In addition, this legislation sets a deadline of one year for the FCC to complete the nationwide upgrade of the legacy switches to support 9-8-8. It also requests a report from the FCC to determine the feasibility of providing an automatic dispatchable location for 9-8-8 calls.