Congressman Chris Stewart

Representing the 2nd District of Utah
Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Stewart Appointed to the House Appropriations Committee

Dec 4, 2013
Press Release


Washington, D.C. – Today, Rep. Chris Stewart (R-Utah) was appointed as a new member of the powerful House Appropriations Committee.

“I’m excited for the chance to serve on the appropriations committee and for the opportunities it offers to better oversee federal spending,” Stewart said. “As outlined in the Constitution, one of the primary functions of Congress is to manage federal funds. Specifically, the appropriations committee plays a critical and constitutionally mandated role in holding the President and his federal agencies accountable for the people’s money. It has already held more than 150 hearings this year, with a focus on making every aspect of the government justify its existence or else lose its funding. I’m excited to be a part of this effort.”

Joining Stewart on the committee are Rep. Mark Amodei (NV-02) and Rep. Martha Roby (AL-02).

“I am pleased to welcome Representatives Amodei, Roby, and Stewart to the Committee, and look forward to working side-by-side with them as we tackle our formidable work ahead,” said Rep. Hal Rogers, Chairman of the House Appropriations Committee. “Members of the Appropriations Committee have tough jobs to do, and have a great responsibility to properly fund the federal government and support the well-being of the nation. These dedicated public servants have proven their commitment to the responsible shepherding of federal tax dollars, to the regular Appropriations process, and to both the people of their districts and the American people as a whole.”

“I have been extremely grateful for the opportunity to serve on the House Natural Resources Committee, the House Homeland Security Committee and as the Chairman of the Subcommittee on Environment under the House Science, Space and Technology Committee,” Stewart continued. “These committees are all working on meaningful legislation, which I will continue to support.”

The slots on the Appropriations Committee opened following the resignations of Congressmen Rodney Alexander and Jo Bonner, and the death of Defense Subcommittee Chairman C.W. Bill Young.